ktmboy

~SPONSOR~
Apr 1, 2001
While it's true that some American dollars are leaving the U.S. and going to these foreign car companies, it's also true that much of the profits they are making here are being re-invested here.
This whole global economy thing has become confusing to me, and I think many US companies are profiting mightily from it. My .02!

Wraith

Do the impossible its fun
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 16, 2000
Zenith was bought out by Koreans. But it was after the suits in corporate, up in Ill. sent the plant to Mexico, to fatten their wallets before it was sold off.

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
I build city buses for a living.. We build buses for alot of different cities here in the USA, what gets me is the county i live in (Alameda) our transit district buys there buses from Canada :| What gets me is ive been there for over 6 years and not once have we built a bus for and out of country customer..
RIck

motometal

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 3, 2001
I think our whole economy revolves around manufacturing of goods.  There aren't enough other jobs (non mfg related) to keep a reasonable % of Americans out of the unemployment line (which is also funded by mfg).  At the rate we are going, it could get really ugly within the next few years.

work harder and smarter?  sure, that will help.  but it's a tough battle when the foreigners are willing to work hard AND smart (given the opportunity for education) for pennies per day.

even middle to lower class folks in usa are living in luxury compared to what some of the folks we are competing with consider the "norm"

unions reward mediocre performance with scheduled raises, and the guarantee of rights, so long as some minimal level of performance is achieved

Wraith

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 16, 2000
Originally posted by motometal

work harder and smarter?  sure, that will help.  but it's a tough battle when the foreigners are willing to work hard AND smart (given the opportunity for education) for pennies per day.