Rut Rider

Sep 12, 2001
I have been conitmplating the last couple of months on what bike to buy. I currently ride trails and race (HS, and enduros) on a '99 KDX 200. I have been racing in the 200B class now for 5 or 6 years and I am really ready to move to a different class (Open B). I want to purchase a 300 at the first of the month so I will have time to get used to it before the first SETRA enduro in Sept. (Hurry up Sept.) I have thought about the GASSers but I only know of 1 dealer in NC and am kind of weary about parts and such. I am leaning towards the KTM 300. I know of a dealer that has a "brand new" left over 2001 KTM300 MXC on his floor. My question is how much would be a good price on this model and how easy would it be to get the headlight and taillight from and EXC mounted onto the MXC? Also since I ride more harescrambles than enduros would it make since for me to go with the MXC instead of the EXC? I am excited about getting a new bike but am a little nervous about not being able to get a bike that will be as versatile as the KDX. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

James

Lifetime Sponsor
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 2001
There is a guy in Statesville with a 2000 300 EXC for sale....I think it is listed in cycle trader. It is a buyers market right now, you can probably get a deal.

johnr37

Feb 18, 2002
I have a new2002 300exc with 1 mile on it and I live in in east tenn.2000 dollars in aftermarket parts Im setras 2002 open c champion in enduros .If you want a motorcycle you need to call me.I will save you some$$$$$$$$$$$$$$John 423-543-4794 home 423-677-5794 cell jfisher@chartern.net

oldfatguy

Jul 15, 2002
I just picked up an '02 300MXC for $4,995 plus setup, fees and sales tax from TJ's Cycle in Austin, TX www.tjs-cycle.com. I didn't really shop around all that much because I wanted to buy it local and I figured that it couldn't be too bad a deal...MSRP is over $6K.

Wakisashi

Mod Ban
Apr 29, 2002