Can't decide: 300EXC or 400 EXC or ???

I currently race a Honda CR250 in Hare Scrambles. I need some help deciding whether to purchase a new 300EXC or 400 EXC. I have always ridden 2 Strokes and I am confident when working on them. I am leaning towards the 400 EXC but I lack experience working on 4 Strokes. I was able to demo a 400EXC in the woods for a few hours and loved it. I had less time on the 300 was was also impressed. Can anyone provide info for or against either bike (not the Honda...)

Thanks for your advice!

weimedog

Damn Yankees
Gona race for a while? Go four stroke. Learn them and when the eco freaks kill the two strokes, you will have an edge.

Those 400 are awesome as well....a good enough reason all by it self.

Bulldog, I found myself in the same situation this winter. I had a YZ400 and debated and agonized over which bike to trade it for. I was torn between the 400 MXC, the 520MXC and the 300MXC. I have extensive experience on both two and four strokes, and I actually prefer four-strokes. I almost bought the 520 MXC, had the deal in hand but balked. After thinking about it for a couple of weeks, I went for the 300.

I had a couple of reasons for choosing the 300 over the thumpers. First off, I had a very difficult time justifying the price difference. My local dealer made me a very attractive offer on the 300, and I would've paid over a thousand dollars more for either thumper. For the money, I just didn't think the thumpers would have any advantage over the 300 and in some areas, the 300 is superior, partiucularly in regard to weight. While the KTM thumpers are very light for electric-start four-strokes, they're still heavy in comparison to the 300. In regards to power output, the 300 has more power than the 400 and won't give away anything to the 520 unless you're riding in really wide-open areas.