BLUEYEDND

Oct 10, 2003
New to the forum...Just got my first bike in almost 16 years!

I bought a used XR650L. How much chain noise should I have? I checked and then tightened the chain, per the Honda manual, but I still have some chain noise from the front sprocket at low speeds. Is this normal? I'm new at motorcycle maint. so I'll have a lot of questions...

Thanks in advance and great site....

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
Often times a chain will make noise if it is a bit too tight. Also, if the sprockets are slightly out of alignment, or the chain lacking lube, the set-up will make some noise.

This may help: http://best-motorcycle-chain-lube.com/Chain Maint.htm

.....I came back to this thread to add a bit.

Be sure to measure that chain. It is a used bike and quite probably worn out.
Measure 10 pins center-to-center. New would measure 6.25". Worn would measure 6.4+".

Worn chains almost always make noise.

I have also had brand new set-ups, mounted perfectly, that also make noise when rolling the bike. I attribute this to close tolerences. If the chain is good and properly lubed, the sprockets are straight, and the tension proper....ride and be happy!  :)

Last edited:

BLUEYEDND

Oct 10, 2003
OK, if I measured right, 10 pins are 5 5/8" on my bile with a 48 tooth rear sprocket and 14 tooth front. If I measure each link, 10 links are 11 1/4" (to the center of the first and last). Am I screwed up, or does the non stock sprocket setup make a difference? Thanks for the input...

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
The sprockets make no difference as to the length of the chain.

A ten pin measurement consists of 11 pins. The first one being number zero, the second number 1.

If you measure one pins distance, center-to-center, then you actually have two pins involved in the measurement, right?

What you did was measure 9 pins distance to ge the measurment you did.