Clutch lever/release lever really loose

jaywhy

Oct 16, 2005
got a 79 kdx400 rode it around for a bit when i pulled back in the driveway the clutch lever was really loose and had no tension whatsoever. Couldnt switch gears or anything, killed it drug it in the garage fluid is still all there. Where should I start? Im a noob

and i dont think its the cable because pulling the lever still moves the clutch release lever with no tension

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
pull the clutch cover and check the clutch hub nut. Might have backed off. Something might have broken in the actuator linkage behind the cover as well. Whatever the problem is, being that it's not the cable, the answer lies behind the RH cover. :cool:

jaywhy

Oct 16, 2005
julien_d said:
pull the clutch cover and check the clutch hub nut. Might have backed off. Something might have broken in the actuator linkage behind the cover as well. Whatever the problem is, being that it's not the cable, the answer lies behind the RH cover. :cool:
do i need to drain the oil before pulling the cover??? also im using 75w90 gear oil is that alright? thanks for the quick reply!

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
You could lay the bike over on it's left side and pull the cover without draining the oil. I wouldn't bother, might as well drain it so as to save yourself the mess.

jaywhy

Oct 16, 2005
julien_d said:
You could lay the bike over on it's left side and pull the cover without draining the oil. I wouldn't bother, might as well drain it so as to save yourself the mess.
so i drain it out get out all but 2 screws and guess what the last 2 are stripped!!! What a PITA!!

julien_d

Oct 28, 2008
That sucks. You can grind the head off the screws and that will let the cover slide off, then there should be enough screw sticking out to grab with vice grips and remove. Otherwise your in easy-out territory.

jaywhy

Oct 16, 2005