CO SRAC new member needs racing class advice

kddodson

Jul 3, 2002
I am a 30 year old newbie rider that just joined SRAC. I have been to a few races, and will head to Berthoud this weekend to watch another. I have been riding Watkins, and feel great on the Int Track, and solid (meaning I can take all of the jumps and don't freak out on any part of the track, but still getting passed rapidly by the A guys) on the Expert Track.

My question...

I will be riding a CR 125, and want to know which class I should ride (again, age 30 with no race experience). I would like to start at the beginner or novice level, no way I am any better than that (B or A not a chance). What classes are available? Is there a Vet 125 Novice class? Is there an open age novice 125 class?

Bike has FMF pipe and VForce, so it is modified if that is an issue.

Thanks in advance.

Mx Dude

~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2000
Hey kd,

I would assume you can race the 125 Novice class (no age limit), or you can race the Vet Novice (no size limit). I would suggest the Vet Novice because the class may be a little less intense than racing 125 Novice which will be full of gung-ho kids. Not saying the Vet class is not competitive, just most the people in the Vet class have jobs to go to on Monday morning, so they make better decisions (most of the time) while racing. Try to specifically watch both classes when you go to Berthoud and compare.

You should be getting (if you don't already have) a rulebook, so definately thumb through it and understand the rules. It should also comment about the various classes too.

You can also check their website for more info: srac.org

Good luck and have fun :aj:
CLIFF

kddodson

Jul 3, 2002
Mx Dude,

Thanks for the scoop. I was thinking the same thing about the youngsters having no fear of bodily harm. My only concern is that if I am racing Vet Novice on a 125, I will get smoked by all the bigger bikes. What is your take on that?

Thanks again

Mx Dude

~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2000
KD,