crashin' hard

Dec 28, 2004
Hey everyone,
I'm new to this site. Thanks in advance ofr any help!

I crashed and cracked the radiator on my CR, unfortunately I did not know about the problem until after a long ride. Well, I overheated the bike and screwed it up.

I thought it was just a head gasket (and I think I was right). I pulled the head off and saw that the gasket was damaged. But I continued with the top end rebuild since I was in the engine. I saw that there was coolant everywhere. When I removed the cylinder I saw that there was a lot of coolant in the crank assembly.

I can clean everything in the top end no problem, but does anyone have a suggestion for the coolant in the crank? I was thinking about pulling the engine and turning it upside down. Obviously, this would leave some residue inside the bottom end. Would that be a problem?

Again thanks. I have never worked on a dirtbike engine before.

sick 96 250

Damn Yankees
Jul 16, 2004
just flip the bike upside down and kick crank it over with the plug out. Been in your situation before, pretty simple task to do, also drain the gear oil and you should be fine.

nickyd

Sep 22, 2004
WOW!!! that's a scary proposition...turn the bike over and kick it over.....

That sounds like the answer to - "i crashed my bike in deep water and sucked in water..."....this guy crashed and broke a radiator and continued to ride until the cylinder heated up to the wazzoo and blew out the head gasket.....