cougar99v6r

Mar 10, 2005
I'm new to repairing my self and i just gotten my 94yz 125 back from top end re-build, new piston, rings, gasket and o ring. well iv only ridden it for about 4 hours and 2 weeks ago my kick starter fell off during riding so i didnt ride for 2 weeks, today i went to fix it and i got it put back on good, and when i went to kick it over it seemed a little stiff, but every time i would kick it coolent with dots of oil would gush from the breather on the head. I took my plug out and noticed coolent inside, i also opened up the coolent cap and it was about 1/4 way down or so, but when i put the bike away 2 weeks ago it was fine. Any sugestions? Im hopiing its just the head gasket. thanks again.

mobrown

Jan 26, 2004
When you got the top end done was it because something was wrong or just routine maintenance? First thing to do is to make sure all of your head nuts are torqued to specifications.

If you had a bad head gasket before the chances are that you either have a warped head or if the cylinder had a sleeve put in before the top of the cylinder (where the sleeve meets the jug ) may not be flat. Sleeves are installed into cylinder as a replacement to getting the cylinder replated if the walls had been damaged.

Check to see if a sleeve has been installed in the cylinder. If you don't know what it is then have someone who does take a look at it and determine if it is flush with the cylinder top surface... if it isn't then you must get it machined flush at a machine shop (about $50-$75) If you have a warped head you will need to get another one (about $150). If your bike had been leaking coolant before then you could have been running hot causing the head to warp.

cougar99v6r

Mar 10, 2005
No, i gotten it done because the piston was shot when i first got it. The guy told me someone beofore tried to re-sleeve it themselves and didnt do it right so he had to mill somthing down.

mobrown

Jan 26, 2004
Get it looked at...