wardis

May 27, 2007
I am new to this but not a complete novice, tinkered but never got this serious, heres hoping you experts can give me some valuable advice before I waste lots of money,
I recently bought a 1996 CR125, everything on it seems fine except the engine and rear brake which both need repair, I want to start with the engine so here goes... by the way I bought this cheap because of these problems..........

The facts:-
1.) The engine does not / did not run....
2.) kick start pushes down easily indicating little - no compression
3.) when kicked down rapidly there is a spark at the plug
4.) seems to leak water from the front of the cylinder head.
5.) drained Oil which was a mixture of oil and water.

What else have I done and found:-
1.) removed top from cylinder, piston goes up and down with kick start.
2.) noticed piston moves about 1mm side to side when pushed with finger in the cylinder bore (is this normal) piston looks brand new could have been replaced (not sure).
3.) removed exhaust and viewed piston through port, piston ring is in position.
4.) removed Carb, reeds seem OK all in tact.
5.) Noticed some droplets of water below the piston.

I have not yet removed the cylinder head, but have been told that the problem is probably something to do with gasket leakage, before I buy the gasket set for just a head replacement does this sound correct, is there anything else I could check, to see if this is something else, I have the workshop manual on order and did not want to remove the head before it arrives, Im also unsure of what is under the covers on the side of the head (one has HPP on it)can anyone enlighten me please?

Your help would be much appreciated, thanks in advance,

Simon

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
Simon.

It would be wise for you to wait for your manual to arrive. Sit down and read the manual. Then, read it again. :cool: