headshot347

Oct 14, 2006
Ya so i just got my CRF250R and i'm new to the four strokes. Been ridin 2 strokes all my life and now had to get me a four stroke bcus the track i ride at will only allow 4 strokes. now that i got one i don't know what the decompression lever is for. what does it do and why?

Jas_RM250

Aug 7, 2006
Decompression lever releases a bit of compression for easier starting.

correct me if I'm wrong guys, but I'm sure I read that somewhere...never rode 4stroke (just 2stroke) but am a frequent mx mag reader...

mafols

Sponsoring Member
Nov 24, 2001
I think what you are referring to is a "Hot Start" lever. The decompression mechanism is centrifugal and is located inside the valve cover connected to the end of the cam....now you are probably more confused..... :coocoo:

RS1441

Jun 18, 2006
I have the 06 crf250 and if you mean what i am thinking it is a hot start a little leaver above your clutch if you mean that then the name is pretty self explanatory if your not talking about that then i have no clue :P

mafols

Sponsoring Member
Nov 24, 2001
The decompression lever on an XR...for example is a lever on the handle bar that is pulled in to make starting the engine easier. The engine is stroked to top dead center with the kick lever. Pull in the lever, it opens an exhaust valve, and then gently push the kick lever a little to bring the engine just past top dead center, release the lever and kick. So basically you are opening a valve so you don't have to try and kick through the compression stroke...which in the case of an XR650R...really comes in handy. :)