Did this ever occur to anyone else...

woodsy

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 16, 2002
I just got back from Honda's websight checking out the new CRF's (230).. Here we go again with Honda doing their thing using all the great stuff about the CRF450 to sell other bikes. I remember vividly the disappointment on my friends face when he went down to the Honda shop in 1976 and bought himself a brand new Honda MR175 Elsinore. He and I had been riding together for many years and he was sooooooo impressed with my 73 CR250M Elsinore that he thought he couldnt go wrong buying a little smaller version of this ICON (he was scared to death of my bike :)). The two bikes were not even on the same planet much less page!!! It turned out that Honda had chosen to use the "Elsinore" name as a marketing tool (dont blame them for that - just should have at least tryed to included some of the Elsinore greatness). I later rode with a couple of guys who owned MT250 Elsinores (PIGS) and the same was true in that case!!
I dont know about anyone else but I was very excited about the Idea of an off road CRF230 - but not now!! Upon inspection the newest CRF reveals the same senario as what happened many years ago. If you are considering purchasing one of these bikes please be forwarned of this!! It is a glorified XR - again IMO.
On a positive note, I am sure that they will be that same old Honda quality and workmanship!! IMO they (Honda) should have chosen a different name then CRF is all - Maybe like CRFWIW (wish I was) 230.
CYA in the woods
Woodsy

MotoGreg

Sep 23, 2001
I checked out the CRF150 and 230 at the Honda display at Laguna Seca and they look like big, overweight heaps compared to our TTR125L. I was thinking we could trade our TTR in and get a new CRF150 to match my CRF but no way now that I've seen it in person.

woodsy

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 16, 2002