drain plug hole threads stripped - husky cr125

richy

Mar 9, 2003
Got a used 2004 husky cr125. When I pulled the tranny drain plug to change the oil - out came some aluminum thread. Was able to use once - but noe she is good and stripped. Is it better to heli-coil or tap one size bigger. I noticed there are jhole on each side of the threads for oil drainage. This really stinks. :think:

Thanks

Rich

Trashrider

Mi. Trail Riders
Nov 3, 2004
Rich,
I would recommend a Heli-coil. However, it might be some odd-ball size that is not available from Heli-coil. If that is the case, drill and tap for a pipe plug. A one quarter npt should be big enough. I am a machinist/ welder by trade and have done this a thousand times and never had a failure. Work slowly and carefully; you will have no problems. This really is a simple job. Good luck.

Mark

Trashrider

Mi. Trail Riders
Nov 3, 2004
Rich,
I doubt if it's pipe thread. Pipe thread is tapered, so the more you torque it the tighter the seal. This eliminates the need for a washer or gasket. My Husky WR 250 uses a washer for the drain bolt.I will be changing my gear oil this week, I can id the exact diameter and thread pitch for you. I would think the 250 and 125 share the same drain bolt? Measure the bolt in inches and multply by 25.4 to convert to mm's. I am old school, I still use SAE measuring.

Mark

84cr125flyer

~SPONSOR~
Oct 2, 2002
I'd go with the insert as well. It's stronger than aluminum alone. Just some information as a side note Pipe thread can be straight, there are two forms straight and tapered (3/4" taper per foot) To ensure you get the correct kit, measure the outside diameter and count threads per mm (0.8, 1.0, 1.25, and 1.5) you should be able to purchase a kit to fix it or have your local Machine Shop do it for you. I bought a kit for my bike at www.travers.com and the price was pretty reasonable, look for Recoil, it's from Australia and of very good quality.

richy

Mar 9, 2003
ordered from travers