Oblivion

Jun 27, 2006
Greets, folks. I'm a street veteran looking to do some trail riding. Here be the details:

1) 5'10" - 199.99# - 32 years old if that matters.
2) I'm a dirt virgin, so I'll be taking it easy.
3) I'm looking for a street-legal bike for buzzing down Wisconsin country roads 5 miles into town that I can also take on fire roads and wooded (potentially tight) trails with the occasional mudhole. This would be something I'd likely leave up by my folks to ride when I'm visiting. I'd estimate usage as 60% offroad, 40% on. No Interstate travel.
4) I have about 15k miles of street riding experience over the last 11 years ('81 Yam XJ750 Seca). The only time I've been off road is on a moutain bike or a 4-wheeler and that was tame riding.
5) No racing for me, thanks (unless I upset a bear in the woods).
6) With a book, I can wrench, but I don't have a ton of experience. I just revived my XJ after 2 years of neglect including carb, brake, and fork rebuilds, so regular maintnance tasks and the occasional mod wouldn't scare me. I've never had a chain-driven cycle, BTW.
7) I like Yamaha, but I'm not fiercly brand-loyal. Using the right tool for the job is more important than what name is stamped on the tool. I believe for street legality, I'm restricted to a 4-stroke engine, which is fine by me.
8) I live near Chicago, so if there's a brand, there's likely a dealer within an hour's drive.
9) I can't see spending more than $5k at this point, especially for something I might put into a tree ;)
10) I'm not dead-set on a dual sport. Perhaps I'd be better off getting a 125 or 250 dirt bike with no turn signals to worry about snapping off and get some off-road experience before I drop coin on a 'nicer' bike. Though that sounds cheaper and wiser, I'd then have to spend money on a trailer, hitch, etc., so I keep going back to the idea of a dual.