Dunes for Easter, last minute prep ?'s

sick 96 250

Damn Yankees
Jul 16, 2004
I will be heading out Wed night to go to the dunes for a few days and this is my first time out in the dunes. I have been riding a lot locally which has its small areas of sand but nothing like full on dunes and I would like a few last minute prep questions answered if possible.

BIKE: 99 RM 250

I have my spare rear wheel good to go with my paddle tire but noticed a minor issue after I threw the tire on. Right where the rim lock is the tire doesnt seem to be seating itself for some reason on the one side. Its seems to have seated everywhere else fine. Maybe I just need to work with it a little more to get it to seat properly but for now I can seem to get it. Any ideas why this is happening?

Suspension wise, how should I set it up? I had it a little softer for the trails and rocks I have been riding mostly but would assume to prob stiffen it up just a bit for the dunes.

Fuel: Normally I run 91 or 93 mixed at 40:1 with Mobile Racing 2T oil. I was thinking maybe I should jump the octane up to 100 for the dunes since the bike will be ridden higher in the RPM's and more of a load will be present most likely and hopefully the 100 octane will prevent any detonation. I'm not to worried about jetting as I have a variety of jets I'm bringing to dial in the carb on the spot. I'm sure I might have to richen up the main once there.

Flags: I see there are two types of flag mounts, one for the axle bolt and one for the seat. Which one is better?

And last is I have a spare front wheel that has a Dunlop D755 on it. I am running a cheaper cheng chin front tire on the RM and it seems to hook pretty good where I ride but not sure if the Dunlop would be a better choice for the sand or not. It has more of a spiked tread with the nipples.