dogshoe21

Oct 7, 2008
Hello Everyone,

I have a 1979 Honda trail bike called the XL185S. I'm new with bikes and decided to buy this as a project bike to work on. The stock exhaust was REALLY restrictive and there was rust inside the muffler and pipes so I got some 1" steel pipe and made an exhaust pipe that goes to a shorty 12" muffler and bolted that on.

Next I took it out for a ride and seemed to be ok but if I gave it too much gas, the engine would bog down. I then took it home and removed the stock intake thinking it was starving for air. So now its just an open intake tube that connects to my carburettor. So I'm currently looking for the right size of K & N style filter, but right now with no intake restriction or exhaust restriction, the bike will turn over and start but if I give it any gas, it just dies. Is this too much air flowing in? Do you think I need more fuel? If so, do I need to rejet or can I just mess with the air fuel ratio? Thanks for you help!

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
Hey Rich, got a live one here... :whoa:

Dude, there is so much wrong with what you just said..

Did you make a pipe that is the exact same dimensions as the old one?

As for the intake, you are going to trash the motor without a filter.

Once you get the proper filter, then you can think about jetting. Not until then.

Do you have too much air flow, I'd say it's very likely.

Are there a million other possible problems, sure. It's an old bike.

How fresh is the topend? Are the crank seals good? Are there cracks in the boot between the carb & the intake?

You need to sort out all of the mechanical's before you even attempt to get it jetted right.

IndyMX

Crash Test Dummy
~SPONSOR~
Jul 18, 2006
Amo, IN
2strokerfun said:
Indy: Isn't that a 4 stroke??
Take carb apart and clean very very good. Check valve clearance. Is your gas fresh? New plug?

Errr.. so it is..

Still, even a brand new carb and fresh gas isn't going to make this bike run..