Engine reving way too high --- Help please!

gbruno21

Jun 12, 2010
88 KDX 200. Quick background. Engine seized up mid ride. Took it to a motorcycle mechanic. He dismantled the entire engine just to find out it was the classic KDX rotor problem. He wanted $2200 to replace everything he could think of. I took home a box of parts and put it all back together. I bought and installed a new rotor and new stator. The bike now only starts with the aid of starter fluid and the engine is running only at a high RPM like I am turning the throddle. The throddle cable is not in a bind, and I loosened the tension on it. I loosened the idle screw at it is still racing at idle. Saw black oil leaking from the head gasket - new head gasket is in the mail. I will also replace the piston rings.

I am not a mechanic at all. I am an amatuer at best. Could it be at such a high rpm because of a bad head gasket or bad rings? Could it be the governor? Could it be a problem in the carburetor. Please help. :bang:

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
See if the slide is in the carb backwards? A round bore has a slot in the slide, and a pin in the bore of the carb. Either way, that slide needs to close all the way!

Last edited:

gbruno21

Jun 12, 2010
not sure what you mean by the "slide." If that is the throddle valve then no it is not backwards. On the 88 the throddle valve is flat on one side and round on the other. It would only fit in one way.

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
I would stop trying to start it with starting fluid. Something is really wrong. A head gasket leak will cause a lean condition, any air leak between the carb and exhaust will. Did he have the crank out?

gbruno21

Jun 12, 2010