eng208

Nov 27, 2002
Hey everybody, just wanted to brag a little and say I went to my first actual race in about 15 years and picked up two second place finishes resulting in first overall in the 125 beginner class.
I sold my last KX125 in 1988 (it was an 85) and bought my new KX in Dec 02 (it is an 03) making this my first dirt bike since. I went to riding street bikes when I sold my 85. I have been working hard at practicing on the local practice track for the last couple of months and thought I was really improving. Yesterday was the big day and I found out just what I need to work on. Not just going faster, but being a little more aggressive. My wife videotaped me and while the guy in first and myself were going just as fast as guys in the C class, neither of us were very aggressive. It was like we didn't want to block or I didn't want to pass for fear of cutting him off or something. I think most of it has to do with who I am as a person, I am an EMT by trade so I couldn't consciously pass someone and make them wreck and feel good about it.
The track was awfully muddy and I have never ridden in the mud before. I was catching the leader in the first moto and crashed in a huge soupy hole. It just stuck me right in the middle. I got back up before being passed though and finished second. The leader was pretty fast, I think we all should have been a couple of classes higher after looking at the C and D classes.