Frankf300

Mar 8, 2007
Well, like the title says I want to get my first dirtbike and I'm so clueless to these things. I'm 17, I've been riding quads since I was a little kid and I've been riding snowmobiles for about 3 years now. Yea, they're fun, but I want something different, I want to take the jump to dirtbikes while still keeping all the other toys lol. BTW, do you think it would be to my benefit to take a class to learn how to ride a dirtbike even though I have the experience on quads and sleds?

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important) 5'6" 178lbs
2) How physical / aggressive are you ? Pretty aggressive, I never really had a sport quad, but I dealt with what I had and in turn the quad has got some pretty loose suspension because of me :nod: . Was never too good on big inclines though, I can say that was the only thing that would have me thinking twice on a quad.
3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with friends or ????? More woods/fields type of riding, maybe the occassional home made jump.
4) Do you have any riding experience? About 9 years on quads and 3 years on sleds.
5) Do you think you will race ? Nah, probably not
6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work? Yes, most of it.
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)? 4 stroke
8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry? Yea, the closest dealer is a Suzuki/Kawasaki dealer, both my quads were Suzuki and an Arctic Cat sled.
9) How much do you plan to spend on a bike? If it all possilbe, used and under $1500 unless you think new is necessary.
10) Do you live in California? No
11) anything else that you think would help form an opinion