jat250wr

Nov 18, 2005
Decided that I would start running to get the cardio up and ready for the hot summer months. (Nothing sucks more to have an unexpected delay and find yourself riding in the desert at 3:00 in the afternoon.) Ran 2 miles last night on the high school track, non stop. I haven't ran 2 miles SINCE I was in high school. I did much better than I thought I would. I used to run track in junior high and high school, so I was a little nervous about getting back into it, especially since I graduated in '96...oh my god, I've been out of school for 10 years already. I was curious to see if I could go the distance and not die in the process. :laugh:
I was comfortable the whole time. No huffing and puffing, no dragging feet, and no aches and pains. It was AWESOME! I can't wait until I go run again tonight. I figure I'll start with running 2 miles 3 days a week. Seems pretty light, but I thought I would ease into it. Depending on how I feel, I'll increase duration and or add more days.
I don't like going to gyms because I feel that they are meat markets, sorry, that's just my opinion. I get sick and tired of getting hit on and stared at. It's very uncomfortable. I know the next question will be that it's not safe to run by myself. Don't worry, I'm not. I mentioned to the 2 girls that I work with that I was going to be running after work and if they wanted to join me they were more than welcome. They walk while I run. It works great. I already asked the hubby too if the girls decide to stop going, if he would watch over me while I run. He said no problem! A lot of bad things can happen to a gal when she's by herself. So safety precautions have been taken!! :)
I can't wait to see how this cardio is going to help me when we're out riding. I'm hoping it will give me the ability to go longer and harder! :debil: :laugh:

The Ant

Jan 3, 2002
Jat,