DevilYZ250

Sep 10, 2004
I know everyone talks about "rider sag", and I have a YZ250 2004, I set up the rear suspension and it seems to be okay, But my question is, is there any "right" way to set up the front suspension, is it done by weight?? my bike likes to "push" out of turns. What should I look for on how to know when you have good suspension for you the rider? It just seems really stiff, or maybe that's how it's supposed to be, I am new at this stuff, so I appologize if I sound like a complete fool.

NO HAND

~SPONSOR~
Jun 21, 2000
Suspension setup is influenced by weight and also type/style of riding, say woods versus MX. Usually, the stock setup is geared towards 175 lb rider doing MX.

Studboy

Thinks he can ride
Dec 2, 2001
DevilYZ250,

Try raising the forks in the clamps 5-10mm. It will significantly increase your cornering ability.

There are a million factors that come into play when setting up proper suspension. Do a search in the "suspension Q&A forum".

DevilYZ250

Sep 10, 2004
what does raising the forks in the clamps do? and also I went about 2 clicks down on the top and bottom of my forks, but I don't feel much difference. Should I go more, or just leave it alone?

Micahdawg

Feb 2, 2001
Raising the forks lowers the height of the front end by 5-10 mm. This transfers more of the "neutral" weight of the bike FORWARD. More weight forward increases traction and turning ability. I've never actually tried it, but I imagine 5-10mm makes a pretty big difference.

Micah

2-Strokes 4-ever

~SPONSOR~
Feb 9, 2005
Missouri