Razor85

Aug 16, 2002
I am planning on buying a new bike in the next couple months and am really looking at the Gas Gas EC line.

I have not had the opportunity to ride either the 250 or 300 but of all the posts that have been written everyone seems to think the 300 is an easier bike to ride. I am a VET rider and will compete in the SETRA harescramble series on occasions.

The question I have is how different is the power output between the 250 and 300. Could I get the 250 and tune it to run more like the 300, which is said to be very smooth. I am not looking for the most peak HP but want a smooth power delivery. The reason I say this is that I am concerned that the 300 could be a handful at times.

Would a flywheel weight on the 250 give me these results or is there anything else I could do to make the 250 less peaky but more linear?

Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

blanc

Dec 18, 2002
The 250 is very linear from stock! A great bike that you will not be dissapointed with! And yes you can put on the fww.....not needed on the ec! The ec250 has the 250 rush with the lugging ability and low-mid of a 4stroke....they are really chuggable! Very easy to ride, not intimedating atall, so much fun you will not ant to get off!

bluesboy

Mar 8, 2004
I've owned EC250 & EC300 and would personally go for the 300. I found the 250 similar but the equivalent power comes in at about 1000rpm higher up the scale than the 250 and subsequently doesn't "hook up" quite so well in sloppy conditions I found. I added a flywheel weight to my EC250 and it did help a bit.
I don't think you would find the 300 intimidating. I certainly didn't and i wouldn't consider myself a fast rider.
If you want to know more about the 300 take a look at p12 of this forum where I asked a similar question "Gas Gas EC300 Question" theres lots of info in that link.
Either Gasser will be a good move but if it was me.....

Enduro_Nut

~SPONSOR~
Feb 7, 2002