motonuts

Sep 5, 2005
i cant seem to set up my bike susp. to go faster with more confidence. in the desert the bike hits a section of whoops and i got to back off the throttle to feel in control. i've had both ends revalved and resprung for my weight. i dont know if i should speed up the rebound or adjust compression, front or rear first..?? any suspension techs out there..ive read race tech "how to set-up".

Feb 17, 2005
Details?

What bike? what sag setting?

I'm not a pro tuner but I have alot of experiance with sandy whoops and rockers (being I live and ride in Florida).

Assuming this is a MX bike... Tuning for off road whoops can be tricky at first but once you get the nack its not that hard. In most cases you will find a sag setting of around 104 to 105mm is best. Set it at 104 to 105mm and leave it for now.

Next, with the clickers set at a decent preset and the forks set in the clamps at a decent height (dont push the forks too high in the clamps for off road whoops, 5mm down is a decent setting to start with)... you will need to focus on fork oil height. Too low and the rear will overpower the front, too high and the front will *snag* the tips of the whoops and screw up everything. You can use the forks bleeder to add oil. Add oil in 5 ml increments to feel a change. You will be looking for a balanced feel between the rear and front when going at a decently fast pace through the whoops.