johnny savage

Feb 13, 2007
First off I am pretty new to the dirt bike riding and motorcycles period. I took a spill the other day and the handlebars seemed to be cocked to the side. when the tire is straight the handle bars and the front fender are slightly turned to the side is there something that I can loosen and adjust? Thanks guys oh by the way the bike is an 04 230f

oldguy

Always Broken
Dec 26, 1999
That is a very common result after crashing. Easiest way to realign them is to stand facing the bike with the front wheel between your legs. Using your legs to hold the wheel in place give the bars a couple quick jerks in the direction you need them to move. You can also sit on the bike and use a solid object (tree, truck bumper..) to stop the wheel from turning and again give a couple good solid pulls on the bars.
If everything doesn't line up then you can loosen the bolts holding the fork legs (just take the torque out don't completely loosen them) and then give the bars a pull in the correct direction. When retightening the bolts be carefull because going to tight can damage the fork legs, It is best to use a torque wrench and get them to the correct setting

Last edited:

johnny savage

Feb 13, 2007
Right on old guy! (feel kinda bad for callin u that but that's ur name!!) I will try that in the event that I have to let the torque out where can I find the torque specs to re-torque them? THanks again!

knowiam

~SPONSOR~
Oct 17, 2006
Get a manual

Johnny-

You can get the same manual for your bike that the Honda Mechanics use from: www.helminc.com

The manual that came with your bike should also have the torque specs.

My pinch bolts [CRF 450X] are spec at 15 lbf-ft lower and 16lbf-ft upper.

Have fun!

Ken

Someone

Mar 12, 2001