Flyin-w

Jul 16, 2001
Please Help! My wife's 2001 TTR-125L Yamaha is VERY cold blooded. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get this thing started? I have been fighting with it for a couple years now. Once I do get it started I have to feather the throttle and play with the choke for at least 10 minutes before you can ride it. Everything is stock except the spark arrestor is pulled out of the end of the pipe and it has a little aluminum pipe at the end of the pipe; but it still didn't start before I changed that out.

Do I need to rejet it? Do I need to raise or lower the clip? Do I need to turn the air screw out?

Please Help!

Thanks!
Keith

Vic

***** freak.
LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 5, 2000
There is no air screw. The fuel screw is located on the bottom on the bottom of the carb. I would start by setting it to spec as per the manual. I think it's 1 5/8 turns out, but you should check to be sure. If it's still hard to start, try turning the screw out 1/4 turn and try again. If that makes no difference, you've likely got another problem. Possibly misadjusted valves.

CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
All of those TTR's are hard to start. Make sure that the choke is in the detent. How many kicks do you have to give? From what I have seen, 10 or more kicks is about right for a cold TTR125.

Vic

***** freak.
LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 5, 2000
Originally posted by RV6junkie
All of those TTR's are hard to start.

Not so. Mine would start on the first kick nearly every time. Even cold.

Flyin-w

Jul 16, 2001
hard starting ttr-125L

My wifes bike is a 2001 ttr125L and it has always started hard and takes 10 min. to warm up. does anyone have any suggestions.

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002