Halfthrottle

May 31, 2007
Help!

I just changed the oil in my 2005 YZ125 and I found about 7 or 8 tiny (much smaller than a BB) ball bearings on the magnetic drain plug. There were also some metel fragments that sort of looked like some kind of case that might of held the balls in place. My question is what bearing is it? What could be that small in my bottom end? All the bearings in the tranny are needle bearings. (I think).

The local shop said it could be water pump bearing or power valve, but how could that be in my oil.

I trail ride the bike, it has less than 100 hours, and I only started riding in 03 so I'm about half a sqid.

Bunya

Apr 26, 2007
You probably shouldn't take it to the local shop! It had to come from the transmission but I have no idea where. I'd just pull it apart and find out which bearing it was, and if it caused any other damage, or if other damage caused it to fail. You can probably look thru your manual and figure out what bearing it was, but it has to come apart anyways.

Marc -

mtk

Jun 9, 2004
The short answer is that it IS a problem and won't fix itself so you might as well start disassembling things until you find the problem bearing. Given where you found the remains, I see a bottom end rebuild in your future....

NWDirt

Oct 2, 2006
Funny thing. I was over at halfthrottle's house and misplaced a cup of really small ball bearings when I was changing his oil.

Nah, not funny. I had the shift drum locater dowels fall off the shift drum and go around in the oil in an old YZ 250. One showed up on the drain plug after I heard a ticking sound. When I pulled the engine apart, the little dowels had gotten between the crank output gear and the clutch boss and bent/chipped/destroyed both. hardened small objects cause gear chipping and immense forces on the gear faces and shaft bearings as they go around. Dont even roll it over. Just get it broken down.

Bunya

Apr 26, 2007