HELP!!!!! First bike for 5'7 120lb woman!

C

Colorado girl

I am looking to buy my first dirt bike. I am 5'7 and 120lbs with more leg than torso. I am brand new to dirt biking and am a little nervous about which bike to get. I am not going to be doing any motorcross riding - I plan to be riding trails in Colorado at high elevation where I live, along with some trips to Fruita and Moab. I am athletic, but not an agressive learner. I am concerned with the height, weight and power of the bike. I would like to be able to put my feet flat on the ground - seems like I would be more comfortable this way - but I am affraid that I might grow out of the shorter/smaller bikes. I have sat on, but not ridden (it's too snowy out!), the TTR125LE which felt comfortable but maybe too short. I also sat on the CRF150 and CRF230 and am concerned about their weights. Most recently I sat on the new CRF150R and liked the size/weight, but am weary of buying a kick start..... HELP ME PLEASE! :)

progirlz

Sep 8, 2006
One of the few times I feel sorry for someone so tall and leggy (haa).
My sister in law is too and she rides the CRF230F. It is hard for her to stand and she looks really awkward on it. I would try to get a bike to learn on without investing a lot of money on it. Get creative. Meeting people on different forums is a good way to meet people with different bikes. I'm very generous with my bike to people that I know wouldnt tear it up. I think it's easier to ride (once you learn and get comfortable riding and using clutch,brakes,gears) on a bike that fits. Too big or too small makes it more difficult. IMHO (if you're not a natural).

kmccune

2-Strokes forever
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 3, 1999
See the sticky at the top of this forum labeled "bikes for the Ladies"

Yamaha TTR 125EL gets my vote, if you think the CR230F is too big.

Squirrel Girl

Oct 17, 2006