firecracker22

Sponsoring Member
Oct 23, 2000
As many of you ST members and DW attendees know, I have decided to break things off with Reese and move. No need for details but we're just not compatible.

I have a degree in journalism that I am not using, and won't have many opportunities to use, where I am now. And as I was flying home from Oklahoma, it occurred to me that there is a whole LOT of this country that I haven't seen and would like to! I have nothing tying me down to WA state and I am ready to pack up and clear out.

Now I have found several websites with journalism jobs and narrowed it down to ones I am qualified for.

What I would like help from the DRN family is to find out what these places are like: cost of living, climate, etc. from anyone who has lived there, or near there, or is familiar with the area in some way.

Are there good places to ride nearby?
Good bike shops?
What is the weather like (compared to the NW anyway, and remember I live on the side where it DOESN'T rain)
How about cost of living--
-average cost of a decent large studio or one bedroom apartment
-utilities
-gas/groceries
-cable/dsl internet
Health care
Distance to nearest city to shop and play in
Cool things to do and see nearby
Nightlife / Music scene
Vehicle tab cost
ORV requirements--license, tabs, S/A, whatever else
Anything else a newcomer to the area should know!

Here are the areas I've considered due to job availability:
Anchorage, AK
Crossett, AR
La Junta and Canon City, CO
Portland, IN
Manhattan, KS
Lafayette, LA
Natchez and Greenville, MS
Austin and Fergus Falls, MN
Poplar Bluff, MO
Dickinson, ND
Columbus, NE
Hobbs, NM
Glenns Falls, NY
Lorain, OH
Houston, Navasota, Marlin, Kerrville or Marshall, TX
Jamesville, WI
Lovell, WY

This list may change as I continue my job search.

Feel free to email or PM me if you don't want to reply in this thread.

Thanks everyone! I am excited to move!

Moteaux

Professional Mud Tester
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 30, 2001