WhiPit

Mar 16, 2000
First time posting in this section, but I need help. I have a rather embarassing problem with my riding style. First, some background,
but I'll try to keep this short.

I've been riding motorcycles since 1976. I learned to ride by watching guys like Marty Smith and I always tried to emulate their style. Everyone has always told me that I have a "good style" and that I "look smooth". But I've found that my late 70's riding style just doesn't cut it in the new millenium!

Here's the situation: When I jump, I "hunch" my shoulders and stick my butt out over the rear fender! By "hunch" mean I pull my shoulders up like I'm trying to touch my ears with them! But when I ride, I don't know that I'm doing this. I can't feel it and some times completely forget that I do this. That is, until someone shows me a picture or video! EMBARASSING!!

Personally, I think this is a hold-over from my "glory days" back in the 70's. Back then, everyone jumped with their rear hanging over the back fender and had their arms stretched out (think like doing a 'superman-air', but your feet are still attached to the pegs).

I've been riding for a long time and I go at a decent speed. 15 years ago, I was even pretty good. But, years and new responsibilities have slowed me down. I still love to ride and race, but I hate looking like a goon! I've even considered constructing some sort of "trainer" to strap my shoulders down. I figure if the straps go over my shoulders and then down between my legs, if I hunch-up again, I'll look like this:
:eek:

Any suggestions to help this old goon rider that wants to have the "new style"??

smarttoys

Sponsoring Member
Apr 29, 2001
Get one of those foam neck protectors. The one like they use in football. It might keep you from hunching your shoulders as much and as an added bonus, protect your neck.