Hi all, newbie needs some tips

Gibbo

Jul 2, 2012
Hi all,

I'm new to the KDX and have a few questions on my bike if anyone can help... :coocoo:

The engine is rattling bad at low RPM but gets nice and smooth when I start to rev her up. The guy I bought it from said that I have to premix the fuel at 36:1 I did that but when I lifted the seat (something he'd obvioulsy not done) I found a Oil bottle that was half full. Now I'm guessing the motor is now running on about 12:1 would that cause my rattle ? she smokes too (a lot)

How sure can i be that the oil from the bottle is going in? is it a good system? do they often pack up? can I disable it temporarily to see if she runs different? or should i just drain the tank???

How can I test the oil bottle is doing it's job? I don't want to kill it..

Cheers guys and it's nice to be here, lovely bike too...

Oh it's a 1992 KDX 200

He didn't have it long and only ran it once, I'm guessing he thought it was knackered if he was putting way too much oil in it, I got it for a killer price.... :laugh:

He also mention that the previous owner took a reed valve out of it and left it out, whats that all about and should i put it back ? where does it live on the engine?

Thanks again in advance, i can't wait to get this baby running right. :cool:

Papakeith

COTT Champ Emeritus
Damn Yankees
Aug 31, 2000
RI
Welcome to the forum. I'm going to move this one over to the KDX guys. They're sure to set you straight.
Well, as straight as a KDX guy can get. . .

Kidding, I'm kidding! :)

kinda ;)

EYY

May 22, 2010
Hi mate, it definitely sounds like you need new crank bearings and seals. Crank bearings are easily heard if they have any play at idle. A damaged right hand crankseal will allow oil from the gearbox to enter the crankcase and combustion chamber, causing it to blow lots of blue looking smoke. I don't think too much oil would make it rattle, although would quieten it.