sleddex

Mar 17, 2004
Hello all, your input here is much appreciated as I am a rookie at the dirt bike game.

I recently purchased a used 2002 KDX 220 and took it out for its first half decent test today.

I think it rode great except towards the end of the ride, (about 1 hour long) I experienced two symptoms.

The first was a hissing sound which seemed to be coming from underneath the gas tank and in the engine area. At times I heard it while moving, other times I heard it while at a stop. It came and went, but only at the end of the ride.

The second was that two times it stalled on me in mid throttle, like it just ran out of gas.

I checked my tank, and there was still some in the bottom of the tank, but in using a flashlight, there is a white stick showing at the bottom of the tank. The fuel line is about 2 inches below that.

Does anyone have any thoughts on these two issues? Thanks.

Bubbie3737

Feb 28, 2004
it will act like it's out of gas with quite a bit in there, flip it to reserve when you get low, the reserve comes on pretty early on our bikes. is the air box lid off? I heard this can make a hissing, i have mine off but haven't noticed a hiss, it might though

dsndblm

Jul 12, 2003
Just a thought since I just replaced mine... Check the rubber boot that goes from the airbox to the carb. Maybe it is loose or cracked. You could have an air leak.

Canadian Dave

Super Power AssClown
Apr 28, 1999
If you could see a white tube extending up from the bottom of your talk chances are good it acted like you were running out of gas because it was. The tube is the fuel inlet and if the pet c o c k was in the "on" position then likely you were sucking air. Turning it to “Reserve" should allow you to more fuel but again if you could see the tube you were very close to empty already.