Honda CR125 and a brand new rider?

JayOne

Apr 27, 2010
I got a Honda CR125 2006 model. I have never ridden before and got it to learn on.

We took it out the other day for the first time. My brother is a rider, and he was going to teach me, but after using it he said its possibly to fast to learn on.

When I say I've not ridden before I'm new to it all, clutch, gears etc. In theory I know how it all works, but I dont want to jump on it, pull the throttle back to much and end up on the floor.

So I'm stuck with 2 things, either decrease the power of the bike temporarily, or jump in the deep end and if I fall off get back up and try again.

Any advice/tips?

JayOne

Apr 27, 2010
YZ__rider said:
How old are you? Height? Weight? What type of terrain are you riding?

I'm 25, around 5ft 11 and was riding on grass land (Although I didn't actually get to ride it).

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
125 race bikes are not good beginner bikes, IMO. I'm sure many have 'jumped in the deep end' and learned to ride on them, but it's not the best choice for most new riders. But at your size and age (maturity) it's probably worth a shot. Just be patient, and don't get too aggressive until your skills improve.

Detuning is not commonly done. I guess it could work, but it's not going to be easy to get a little bit of nice smooth beginner friendly power out of a full race 125.

If you are easily intimidated or will get frustrated by crashes that you would not have on a true beginners bike,
you could pick up a more beginner friendly bike, learn on it for a few months, re-sell it for close to what you paid, and save the CR125 for when you have learned the basic skills.

YZ__rider

Jan 16, 2010