DBrides

Nov 23, 2004
Hey guys, I'm a California resident who's been riding a 2002 Green Stickered YZ250 2-stroke for couple years now and I love it. However, I got bit by the four stroke bug and bought the new 2005 Honda CRF250X not only for the Green Sticker option but also to race some hare and hounds and enduros. Plain and simple, the bike has no power or torque.

I'm considering selling the new Honda and buying a CRF450F motocrosser, but the Red Sticker makes it sketchy to ride, let alone race, in the summer months. Now, I know Honda is coming out with a CRF450X this Feb but the weight on that sucker is 255+ pounds!!! Does anyone have any recommdanations for a 4 stroke bike that is powerfull, light, LEGAL and can be used for desert races and play riding? My YZ just plain runs out of gears in the places I like to ride.

If we can answer this question I'm sure we'll all be riding this bike!!!!!

:bang:

Studboy

Thinks he can ride
Dec 2, 2001
Or... I've heard that with some minor modifications a WR 5th gear can be made to work in your YZ, which would give you more top speed. Other than that... the KTM and WR450's are an excellent choice.

stroker

Mar 19, 2000
they will all be so close in weight to each other for 2005, just pick you favourite colour....

BTW brochure weights are never right, gotta weigh it yourself

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
I can see how it doesnt have enough power if your comparing it too the yz250..

I have ridden a KTM450 exc and that bike has the power too pull me around, plus they are green sticker bikes.. Im not sure of the weight though, but it really wasn't a factor too me.. I myself am waiting on a crf450x..
RIck

WR Dave

Feb 7, 2000