CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
There are many posts on this subject. A quick search will yield hundreds of threads. In short, there are two schools of thought (1) caustic chemicals like gasoline, diesel and kerosene, and (2) harmless chemicals like no-toil.

Using method (1) above you would most likely re-oil your filter with petroleum based filter oils. Using No-Toil you would use No-Toil’s vegetable based filter oil.

I’ve been using no-toil for several years now with no ill effects – except one. Over time No-Toil does tend to dissolve the glue on Uni-Filters. I have been using Billy-Who filters with no problems as of late. I simply add ¼ cup of the cleaner to warm water and agitate my filter in it – in the kitchen sink. When dry I re-oil in a plastic bag.

I like to limit my exposure to handling petroleum products which is hard to do when maintaining dirtbikes.

ochster

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 11, 2000
Obvously different filter oils will require different "solvents". I personally still like the petroleum based filter oils and use stoddard solvent to clean the filters fallowed by a hot soapy water flush and rinse. You can buy this solvent at most auto parts stores and simply pour into a oil drain pan for use and then back into the 5-gallon bucket done. There will always be the "sludge" from the cleaning in the bottom, simply wipe out with a rag or newspaper and dispose in the garbage.