wjp

Nov 15, 2001
Hi All,
I'm relatively new to MX and have been riding for about 10 months now. Something that I find a bit strange that I'm sure should not be right is on one of the jumps I do (about 20-30 foot) if I make the bike land on the front wheel just before the rear wheel the suspension seems to soak up the landing much better than if I land on the rear wheel first.
What you you guys do? always on the rear or does it depend on the kind of jump?

Hucker

~SPONSOR~
Sep 15, 2000
What you are doing is correct :) I rarely land rear wheel first, unless I make a mistake. It almost feels like I am landing with both tires at the same time, but the front does come down just a wee bit earlier. Landing with the rear first usually smacks the front down unless you get on the gas quickly. ?I prefer the front to come down just a split second before the rear. if you find your landings a bit harsh, get on the gas as soon as you land, it will take some of the harshness out of it..

Good Luck!! :)

MX2_motorex

Jan 7, 2003
Very interesting topic I have found wile racing that its best to land with your rear weel first with full throttle its called power landing. I use it on almost every jump mostly rythm sections. its gets you to the next obsticle quiker becaus when you land rear weel first you tire will automaticly gain traction and you will accelerate realy fast. you have to stay in an agressive position so you dont fall off the back.

Moto Squid

~SPONSOR~
Jul 22, 2002
I do the same as MX2_motorex...always on the gas! The only time I'll land front wheel first is if I scew up or sometime if the jump is a kicker with a steep landing. But moslty both wheels hit at or really close to the same time.

skyman

Jun 28, 2001