rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
All right, I admit it, I was a moron.

I was itching to ride and had nothing better to do yesterday so I loaded up the bike and headed out to Carnegie, a nearby state vehicle recreation area (SVRA).

First mistake: it was 104 degrees out there. It was insane to even load the bike up.

Second mistake: I didn't have a riding buddy. I figured Carnegie was crowded enough that if something happened someone would come along.

Third mistake: I didn't have a camelpack or other form of water.

Fourth Mistake: I didn't carry my fanny pack with tools and such.

Fifth Mistake: doing all the above at an area I had no experiece with.

I started riding about noon, would ride for 30 minutes or so and then come back to the truck for refreshment and rest. It was about 2:00 PM when I headed out for the last time.

This area is unlike any other I have ridden: the ground is very hard packed with a loose sprinkle on top. This makes it very slippery! Downhill was a bitch as even a light tap on the brake would lock the rear wheel up and then there wasn't enough traction to get the engine to start turning again.

I was climbing this one hill, nothing serious about it except I started loosing traction about half way up. I would slide back on the seat to get more weight over the rear wheel but then the tire would get a bite and the front wheel would lift. I bounced back and forth a few times and then just lost it.

It was a minor fall, hardly worth mentioning. I picked the bike back up, drug the front wheel downhill, hopped on and started riding back down. I shifted up to 3rd gear to bump start it (any lower gear would just lock the rear wheel).

The bike would not start.

I had a pretty long run with the engine turning a pretty good clip but it simply would not fire.