How much maintenance is required compared to a sport bike?

LG416

Mar 15, 2007
Hi guys,

I'm new to dirt bikes, but from what I have been reading it seems like a constant battle to keep it maintained?

I've had a GSX-R600 for a few years, and the only maintenance I have done with it, is before every season I changed the spark plugs, air filter, oil change, rad flush. Things like that, the only thing I used to do every day was Lube my chain and a general look around to make sure everything is good.

don't get me wrong I love working on bikes, I just want to know what I'm getting into hahaha.

I've cleaned, and Jetted my carbs on the GSXR, changed sprockets & Chain, things like that, so I'm confident in whatever I have to do with a dirt bike, just want to know how much is really involved in maintaining it.

thanks

ZOMBIE666

Mar 24, 2006
Look what a dirt bike has to deal with compared to a street bike. Basically every time you take a dirt bike out, you’re beating the crap out of it so of course parts will wear out. Dirt bikes (performance dirt bikes) need far more maintenance than a street bike. As far as im concerned, maintenance wise a street bike might as well be a daily driver car while a MX bike is more like a dragster. now you could go pick up a play bike that needs very little maintenace but you wont get the performance

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006