I want one.

thumbs

Tony 'da Rat
Oct 16, 2000
I'm looking a getting a used trials bike but have not idea what I need. I don't what engine size would be right for me, what makes are good and bad. I can't find a decent website with used bikes for sale.

I'm 40 years old and have raced desert, GP's, enduros, hare & hounds and even a motocross race here and there. Now I want to take a stab at a trials bike for fun. I'm looking to spend no more than $2500 on a bike. Can I even find a decent bike for that?

So let's here you suggestions, tips, comments or whatever you have to offer. I'm a newbie to these seatless bikes so I need all the help I an get.

Thanks

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
I was in your boat earlier this year. Keep searching. I did see a GASGAS last weekend locally for $2250. I'll see if it is still available and get the specifics.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Excellent Thumbs!!!
Yes you can easily get a good trials bike for $2500. Look for something 2000 or newer although a year or two older isn't a huge deal on something like a Montesa, Beta or Sherco. Montesa is HRC and in my option they don't age as rapidly as some of the others. Beta will have a left side kick start which might be odd for you. Beware of the early GasGas Pro models, very light and not real bulletproof. If you find a clean 200cc or a well used 250cc machine the 200 would be the much better choice but 250 and larger size bikes will be more plentiful with little weight penalty. For sure look for a local club, they will typically have good leads on bikes as well as a great source to learn the in's and out's or dabs and zaps.

blackduc98

~SPONSOR~
Damn Yankees
Dec 19, 2005
Thumbs, where are you located? I know of quite a few bikes for sale here in New England.

Nov 2, 2007
Got one yesterday