I'm in love with my gasser EC-200...few queries

COMBEN

Nov 7, 1999
Hi guys, hope ya well,

finally got a Gas Gas EC-200, '06 and 10 hours use, she is simply beuatiful to behold....I had to sleep in the back of my Transit for a night a covered some 800 miles to get the one I wanted but it was sure worth it, if could take her to bed I would...I bought my girlfreind a cruise on the Nile so she won't get too jealous :)

As a Gas Gas rookie I have a few questions, sorry if these are somewhat boring but my handbook is in the post:-

1/ Whats the latest 'fix' on the side stand....hmm it never fails but makes me soooo nervous!

2/ Where does the horn locate...on the small bolt on the top fork yoke?

3/ I can't believe the quality of the headlight, anyone know the bulb type...I'm guessing it's a Halogen of some rating

4/ My old KDX had a snorkel air airlet for crossing streams but these new breed of bikes (most brands nowadays) seem to have forgotten this method of air inlet...is there a mod' around to have a snorkel air inlet?

Cheers guys

SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
1) You can try taking a masterlink plate, drilling out one side to fit bolt that mounts the kickstand mount to the frame and attaching the spring to the masterlink plate. I did this and it turns the kickstand into a normal kickstand, but the spring is a little two short. I've broken two springs and finally decided to hell with it and took the kickstand off.

2) On my 2001 model the horn was mounted behind the headlight. I've stripped the wiring and lights to just a high/low beam headlight now though.

3) Can't help here yet. I'm waiting until the winter to get a new headlight bulb for mine.

4) Break out the silicone and seal the bottom seams of the airbox. I leave mine open though as I don't do huge stream crossings.

Check out www.smackovermotorsports.com and click on the Talking Smack link for a wealth of GasGas info.

DWreck

~SPONSOR~
Apr 14, 2002
Try www.gasgasrider.org