im thinking yz 250 or yzf 450, not sure!!

nickt916

Oct 22, 2005
im 24, 6'2" about 200lbs im not a professional rider and have not goals at being one, just looking for a good reliable bike to have some fun on, but yet not get a small enough bike to make me want more power later. so thats why i want a 250 yz or a 450 yzf or 400/426 yzf for that matter since ill prob be getting a 2000 model . Is there any major different between the 400 426 and the 450?

i know the pros and cons of both worlds a little, the 2 strokes have to be rebuilt every season, every 150 hour or so, the 4 strokes run for a while if mentained properly, but do cost more money to maintain.

Both bikes weigh about the same, wich surprizes me because i thought there was atleast 100lbs difference in the 2 class bikes. But happens to be that the 250 yz and the 450 yzf both weigh about 215-220lbs wich is why im concidering the 450 now instead of the 240 2 strokes as i have always wanted.

Now i guess my question is, what are your pros and cons of the both worlds? The 2 stroke bikes dont have that much low end power unless they are kept in the lower gear and the engine always has to be loaded to have the fun with the power.. am i correct? but with the 4 stroke 450 the are all around fun ...

i mean i like the fact that you dont have to rebuilt the 4 stroke as much and you just put the gas in and go... please help me out on making this choice... thank you

nick

Last edited:

tyesai

Nov 4, 2004