is it about time for me to re-build?

110 octain

May 10, 2004
im 13 and i have a 03 yz85 iv raced in 5 races (and when i wasent racing i rode it very hard and was always on the gas)
iv hade the bike for 1year and i baught it new so do u think i should re-build soon..........if so what all parts should i replace
also what brand of parts would be best

LA Sledboy

May 5, 2004
Im kind of new to the mx dirtbike engines but if you could get the compression checked and it was still fine I dont think you need a rebuild. I think all you need to replace on these a lot is the rings on the pistons that probably wear out (losing you compression) since these weed eaters are reving WFO all day long. When you kick it over is it still the same resistance as when you got it or is that getting a lot easier than when it was newer. Id think this would be a basic way to tell.

Im sure some guys are replacing these after every single race but do they need to?

Rcannon

~SPONSOR~
Nov 17, 2001
The compression will tell you very little about what is really going on.

How do I know so much???

We found an old compression tester that belonged to my friends father when he was a diesel mechanic years ago. We tested his boys brand new CR 80 and got a certain figure. We decided to check this monthly and replace the piston or rings when the figure dropped. 8 months later (weekly riding) the figure was stiill 95% of where we started. We both thought...sure, Honda just wants to sell parts. Screw them!

We continued to ignore the slight ticking the bike made. Heck, the compression was still good. Why worry???

The next ride the poor old piston let go. I believe the largest piece of it was 1/4 inch. We were very lucky. It only took us three hours to clean the mess up. But, the compression remained excellent until the end.

I put the compression tester away and will probably never bother with it again.

Seriously, no joke.......change the piston and rings on a regular basis. It is cheap insurance.