zcookie49

Seven OUT!
Dec 21, 2000
This is my first time back here since before my wreck on April 21,2002... I went riding on that sunday at a track we like, and just came home this past friday, the 27th. I was helicoptered to Hershey hospital in PA and spent 3 days in intensive care and 3 days on the regular floor. I have been and currently in so much pain, it sucks, but I look forward to the day I can ride again.
here is my damage report:
compound fracture to right femur and clean fracture to the left femur.. Both had titanium rods hammered in the femurs and they stapled me up. I also fractured the radial bone in my left forearm, broke my nose, busted my lip and lacerated my forehead near my right eyebrow. this causes headaches still, I lost over a liter of blood through that cut that was quagulating on my face.. (fellow rider report to me)...
Needless to say I thank God that I am alive and not paralyzed. I know the road ahead of me will have many bumps.. (all I can do now is roll my legs out of bed, use a walker to stand up,pivot then sit in wheel chair....)
How did it happen, ? i hit a jump with a bad kicker, either it bucked my rear wheel up vertical or I hit my rear brake, either way, when I realized to bail, it was almost too late, slamming into the the shallow bottom between jumps.
THANK god for PROTECTIVE GEAR!!!!. I wear it all and it works. even though I broke a bone in my forearm, my elbow pads protected it enough that I do not have a shattered elbow, because my elbow is all bruised up. The helmet is cracked on the head and the mouth guard area is bent. Nothing happened to my feet which I had on the A-stars and both of my CTi2 knee braces are cracked, but I have no damage to both of my reconstructed knees..(i am post op 7 months on left knee ACL)
So I think it is very important for everyone that rides to have medical coverage, protective gear, and riding buddies that care, for I sure did.