380ePete

Dec 27, 2000
I am about to re-jet my '99 380 for the winter and wanted to ask you guys for advice. If I go by the manual, it seems to run too rich. How should I procede? Would be willing to try other needles. I just have what came with bike.

Here is what I currently run:

PWK 38
1/2 and 1/2 VP-C12 w/ 96 oct, 50:1
1200 elevation
60 to 75 degrees f
AS 1 1/2
IJ 48
Needle NOZH , 2nd clip position
MJ 172

BTW - Just got a new Wiesco Pro Lite, has stock pipe with FMF Power Core II

KTM Mike

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Apr 9, 2001
I am far from an expert - so FWIW - and hopefully the real expert Strick will weigh in....

If you are a bit rich running summer temps... you may be just right for winter... ride it and do plug reads to see!

On my 300 I had it absolutely dialed in for summer temps - so really did need to rejet for winter to avoid a trashed top end. Seems I had lost my other jets - so lowerd my clip 2 notches as I had a race and no time to buy new jets -worked fine down into the low 50's. Now that temps are heading lower yet.. I will bump pilot and main 1 size each, and put clip back where it was. Be sure to read plug before you get into an all day ride though just in case you are a bit lean.

Do a search - Strick offered up some good advice when i posted my question on same topic back in October.

scott_ktm

Feb 13, 2001
FWIW also, those specs sound a little rich to begin with. I have been running 42-45 PJ, NOZI 1st, and 172-175 main. Pardon the vagueness, I have to look in my manual to remember what is really in there. CRS disease( can't remember ***t). If it seems lean, go up one on your jets and/or raise your clip.

Desert Guy

Oct 17, 2000
380 Jetting for AZ

I ride a Y2K 380 KTM Exc and have played around with the jetting and have settled upon a 175 main, 40 pilot, CEJ clip position 3 with a #7 slide. For awsome low end and roll on power this setup is increadable. Also the plug runs a tan at all ranges of throttle position. Njoy Az

Strick