grizzitup

Aug 6, 2012
I am pretty new to the dirt bikes and have never done any jumps,.
This weekend I rented a skid loader to make a few jumps but really dont know how far to place them. I made one today that is 3' high with a tapered 9' ramp. Landing ramp is the same. I put the distance between jump and landing ramp around 20'. Is this ok?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
For somebody new to jumping, tabletops are a much better idea. they are more forgiving than doubles. 20' is actually pretty small, but as a beginner, I wouldn't go ahead and get comfortable with that. Make sure your landing is rounded over to minimize risk if you come up short. The height of your jump leads me to believe the it would be OK as a single, so overjumping shouldn't be too hard on you, and better than coming up short. I have seen a beginner get a concussion on a 25-30 foot jump, helmet was trashed, nose went high and he came off the back, so don't underestimate the jump.

grizzitup

Aug 6, 2012
FruDaddy,I appreciate your advice. I only built doubles this weekend but am going to rent a dozer next weekend and I will build a couple of tabletops. Any idea on how high the ramp should be and how long the top should be? I could fill in the 20' between the doubles or make it longer if need be.

Last edited:

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
Supercross jumps are usually in the 3-6 foot high range, not that you should be modeling your track after supercross stuff, that height range is usually good. keep them moderately short until you are comfortable jumping, 20-40 feet, but leave room to go longer later. Don't leave sharp edges on your landings, always roll them over.