bully_23

Apr 22, 2005
Ok I'm new to the whole track building thing and have currently got a sort of track that includes 1 berm 3 small ski jumps 4 whoops and a tabletop.
I have decided to build more of a track and add more obstacles and alter existing ones and incleude more corners turns and berms. I took the measuring tape out after I learned from doing a search that the jump face should be 2.5 - 3 times longer than the height of the jump. This was helpful information however I would like to know how tall a jump should be for the length of it. you see at the moment I have a 3' 7-8ish" high tabletop, the jump face is only 7' long So I know I need to make that a bit longer but I also need to make it higher also. At the moment the distance from the top of the face to the bottom of the down ramp is about 50" So as you can imagine I need a lot of speed to clear it and I know that the height being under 4ft isnt right. There is massive gaps in my track at present so this is not such a problem but when i add more obstacles and corners I will not have as much of a run-up therefore would like to know the appropriate height of a 50' table. also what sort of an angle should it be i assume a fairly slight angle with a gradual build up on the face?
Thanks in advance

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
I have seen a 42 foot table that was less than 3' tall. I also frequent a track containing a 60' table that is in the 6' height range. You can clear 50' from a 4' high launch if you hit it hard enough. The slope of the ramp is more important than the height.

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
For amateurs, usually 3-4:1. For a 4 foot high jump, you would begin the ascent 12-16 feet before the peak. The faster you hit it, the farther you will go, but the light angle of the slope will keep you close to the ground. Steeper slopes will send you higher, and bring you down harder, but you could still make the distance.

just_a_rider

Jul 25, 2006