DieselX

Jul 21, 2008
Sup guys. I'm new to motorbikes but not jumping, been downhill mountain biking for years.

When you jump, do you gas a little, not do anything, or clutch it?

I'm asking because I get a little paranoid of landing and hitting the throttle hard (falling back), so I usually land while pressing the clutch. I've landed with a little gas too before, I just want to know if I should stop being paranoid and let go off that clutch?

Thanks

russdaddy

Jul 23, 2007
i dunno about everyone else but i personally dont use my clutch when i do jumps,i normally justgive it a bit of throttle,becareful not to give it too much thow cuz it'll throw the bike backwards

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
It depends on the situation. You can use the throttle/brake to correct the bikes flight. Say you go foo the jump too hard on the gas and the front end goes way up on you, tap the brakes. If the opposite happens and you go off front heavy use the throttle to level it out. It's generally a good idea to land ON the gas. This will help the bike straighten out if necessary. Keeping a finger on the clutch to keep the engine from stalling while hitting the brake in the air is a good idea. Once you get some more seat time you will be able to tell how the bike will fly as you come up to the jump. Once you get a feel for that you can use body positioning to correct for it even before it happens.

kaboom1371

Jan 15, 2008