xkevenx

Dec 4, 2007
hi guys, i have a silly question. i am learning to jump basicly i am learning hwo to ride :whoa: so im a noob in motorcross. i am already told to have a steady body pos. now if your bike is air wheelying you should lean forward or tap your break(rear) do you need to tap it hard or just a little or long or short? what effect does it have? and can you use your front break as well? and what is the effective way. leaning front or breaking... and also if your bike is nose diving what do you need to do? gass it or lean it. i cant tell what you need to do. the weather here has not give me anny oppertunity to jump very well cause its very damn muddy in here. annyhow thanks for the tips on jumping in advance.

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
When you hit the rear (or front) brake in the air, it stops that wheel. All of the angular (rotational) momentum gets transferred to the rest of the bike and causes the whole bike to rotate forward (front down/rear up). When you rev the engine / speed up the rear tire in the air, the opposite happens, it rotates the bike rearward (front up/back down). Before you hit the rear brake in the air, you need to make sure you have pulled the clutch in so that you won't kill the motor.

Leaning (pulling the front of the bike up or down in the air) will help a little, but when you pull the front up, it also results in your body being pulled down.