paintedyellow

Dec 5, 2006
I am after some help on jumping technique as i am new to riding tracks and have previously only ridden trails and done mimimal jumps and only small ones at that
any help on basic technique and the like will be greatly appreciated (my bikes are trail oreintated but really only differ in that they have slightly softer suspension and different power curve)

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
The TM and WR will probably do fine when jumping, but the TTR will not handle it as well.

Any particular type of jump that is giving you trouble?

Obviously, starting with forgiving tabletops is much smarter than going for doubles right away.

BTW, that TM sure is a nice looking bike!

KX250Dad

Dec 4, 2006
For what it's worth thought... jumping small doubles when speed and air are reasonably low miscues most likely won't be the end of your season. I might suggest you make sure your judgement, decision making and skills are in line before going for the 50 footer. Can't believe I'm typing this but learn how to case and pancake (over jump) properly... yep, actually practice casing. Learn how to bring the front up/down, and straighten the sideways bike. Understanding these skills will help your jumping confidence as you'll know what to do in those mili-seconds prior coming up short or sideways.

It's all in the suspension setup... and the setup changes with each track and conditions, another must learn.

For what it's worth, get technique jumps will happen, not only that they'll be fun. You can search for books and vid's on the subject... personally, it would most likely be to your advantage to hang out at the track and ask the better riders to help you out. Mx guy's are brothers and most will go out of their way to get you in the right direction. I'd invite you to come over and ride with my son and I but the gas for you to get here could buy a lot of "how to" stuff.

jackfox

Dec 22, 2007