traider

Aug 12, 2003
I'm new to the forum, especially the 2 stroke area. I've been riding a CRF250 and CFR450 for the past two years. I just picked up a CR500AF from Service Honda and was hoping to get some pointers from the guys that have expirence with them.

First of all it is the most fun bike I have been on! It took a little getting used to coming off my 450. Since I have no expirence with the 500, I don't know what is normal and what is not.

Anyone that could help me with a few basic questions or give me some suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I got the starting down after reading this forum.

It seems to smoke a little when I first start it and warm it up, then It clears up. It a little rough until the rpms are up and it seems to pull really hard. I'm not used to shifting so low compared to my 4 strokes but when I do it just keeps pulling. Are these supposed to be shifted mid rpms and use the torgue?

Is it normal to be a little flat until the rpms come up? I'm guessing these don't rev like normal 2 strokes either.

I mainly ride on MX tracks with my bikes and am an intermeadiate rider. I know I will not be riding the bike anywhere close to it's potential, I'm riding it for fun and to be something different. Would the plug heat range and jetting that came in it be fine for mild riding on a MX track? It has the Pro Circuit pipe, everything else is stock. I'm looking forward to riding it at Sunset Ridge where I can have some room to get it moving.

I thought I should change the plug after I initailly rode it for a while. I looked on the Service Honda site and it says to use a BR8EG. The bike has a BR8ECM which is shorter. It looks like a BR8EG would hit the gas tank.