JustKDX website n/a for quite awhile?

Joined
Oct 14, 1999
Messages
4,005
Likes
0
#1
Maybe it's just me...but it's been weeks since I've been able to reach:

http://www.justkdx.dirtrider.net/

directly. If I click on the site button from a CDave post (same URL) I get there, but NOT if I put the exact same URL into IE.

Is this happening to anyone else? Is this a 'moderator fix-it' problem?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 1999
Messages
4,005
Likes
0
#3
CRIPES!!

Sorry...

I have asked this question before...was told to take out the 'www'. The URL I cut/pasted was the RESULT of a failed effort to reach:

http://justkdx.dirtrider.net/

After the failure, IE put www in the front. I didn't notice that.

BUT...I did get it. It's CASE SENSITIVE! 'justkdx..' does NOT work. 'Justkdx...' DOES work.

Ha...but the link bar then shows a lower case URL after the page loads.

Which is what happened. I cut/pasted FROM the site in the first place (so I wouldn't make any errors). Fat lot of good it did!!

IE won't accept upper case URLs anyway. I have to MANUALLY change the 'j' to 'J' to get to the site.

So, I AM using <http://justkdx.dirtrider.net/> and I don't get there unless I 'edit' the URL to a 'J'.

what's-up-with-that???

Thanks O&S..I knew the no www part. Still don't work.

Thanks for computers 101. Ha...if you only knew my occupation.... :)
 
Joined
Oct 14, 1999
Messages
4,005
Likes
0
#5
..guess it's just me...

dkb

The URL you list is exactly the same as mine..and that's the one that doesn't work from here (without a CAP J). All of which makes no sense to me at all.

Oh well....not like THAT's never happened before.

And, yes, it's CDave's site I'm talking about.

thanks for the input anyways.

I deleted the bookmark, added it again...now it works. Something about it was hose-a-vooed.
 
Last edited:

Mikeb

Subscriber
Joined
Jun 8, 1999
Messages
627
Likes
0
#6
It must just be you Canyonman. I typed the URL in all caps and it worked ... I tried the URL in all small letters and it worked .. i tried it like you typed it and it works? I think we ar on a UNIX server and they are real picky about being case sensitive. Wierd though. Are you accessing from work or home? It may be a firewall at work or your ISP if you are hitting it from home. Bottom line is whatever works for you.
 

Mikeb

Subscriber
Joined
Jun 8, 1999
Messages
627
Likes
0
#8
DOH! :eek: You are right I dont even know how to get to my own site .. I am a complete SPODE. Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 14, 1999
Messages
4,005
Likes
0
#10
Hhhhmmm.......

Originally posted by Mikeb
DOH! :eek: You are right I dont even know how to get to my own site .. I am a complete SPODE. Thanks
So then there....maybe it's NOT just me??!!!

:) all round!!