stoopstn

Feb 8, 2005
I am looking to buy a new bike and can't quite decide which one. I am a beginner rider and am 6'1" 190lbs. I will mostly be doing trail riding in the woods and on logging roads. I am leaning more towards the XR 250 however I keep hearing that KDX's are good bikes. What are the main differences in performance between the two and which one would you guys recommend for the type of riding I will be doing. Thanks.

Mrobbins

~SPONSOR~
Sep 28, 2002
Either would be a good for what you describe. Stone reliable and lots of parts to improve both if you want. That is why legions of riders love them. Best bet is to try to borrow/test ride one of each and decide for yourself.

stoopstn

Feb 8, 2005
Good point, I plan on driving both before making a decision, however, will the kdx be able to handle hills and say crossing through water as well as the xr?

yater

Nov 7, 2003
The kdx will blow the xr250 away in every way. No comparison. Either bike will do water up to the airbox..no difference there. The kdx doesn't lug QUITE as low as the xr but it does just fine down low. (I'm talking about the 200...the 220 is a different story and has more bottom end)

duke

Oct 9, 1999